Today is THE Day

What, you ask, makes today so special?  Why is today any different than yesterday or tomorrow?  I finally decided that today I had enough focus, enough determination, and enough energy to just get off my booty and put pen to paper (or, rather, fingers to keys).  You see, I have had this Frugalonomy.com idea for a long, long time.  I would always ghost-write posts in my head, and even typed a few out on another popular blogging platform.  If you found me here, you may have found me there at some point.

Today, though, I got clarity.

I couldn’t decide how I wanted this whole thing to develop and didn’t want to start without some picture of where I was going.  Should I focus on couponing, or DIY revamps, or general ideas on saving money?  I was flustered for over two years on what direction I wanted this blog to take and I couldn’t take the leap to really go for it.  Like, I’m all in, committed, willing to put the time in, make sacrifices, stay up late, get up early type of going for it.

I knew the easiest thing would be to tell our story of how and why we started down a frugal journey, but, to be honest, I didn’t feel like we had much of a story to tell.  We saved money when we could with coupons, but we still ate out all.the.time.  I continue to fall in and out of love with cooking because I hate doing dishes.  We are a dichotomy focusing on some things with passion and leaving other things to settle with the wind.

So, to answer my own question, what makes today different?  My husband was laid off.

Our story suddenly became more interesting last week when Hubs got word that his position was being eliminated. His last day is Tuesday, so it’s time to take frugality a little more seriously.  It’s not just how to save more money or live on one income for who knows how long.  For me, being frugal is about using my resources and talents more, well, resourcefully.  It means looking at things through a lens of promise and potential instead of disposable and one-time-use.

Today is THE day because it kind of has to be.  We don’t really have a choice in whether or not we can be flippant with the things we have right in front of us.  But, even if we did have a choice, I think I would still choose this path of frugality.

This is where I’ll share how we’ve prepared for the unexpected, and how we move forward now that it happened.

This entry was posted in My Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

