Whip it good

I’ve been wanting to try my hand at homemade bath and body products for a while (homemade cleaning products are next), and I heard that coconut oil is great for a lot of things other than just cooking.  The idea of slathering myself in coconut oil didn’t sound too appealing, so I started looking around for SUPER easy DIY lotion recipes.  I came across one that only uses two ingredients, shea butter and coconut oil, and looked luxurious…shazam.  So, I ordered this shea butter  from Amazon, and already had some coconut oil in my cabinet.

I used this simple recipe from Soap Queen and I love it.  I used raw shea butter, which is yellow, instead of the white refined shea butter that she used, and I didn’t add any essential oils (although I might next time…I just didn’t have any).  I whipped it with my hand mixer and it got light and airy very quickly, but I continued whipping it for a few minutes to make sure I incorporated as much air as I could.  I use it for lotion when I get out of the shower, cuticle/nail cream, a hair conditioning mask every couple weeks, lip balm in a pinch, and I slather it on my feet before bed and throw on a pair of socks.  It takes a few minutes to soak in, but it doesn’t leave me feeling like an oil slick, and my skin loves it. It has also stayed whipped even though the temperature of my house definitely gets above the melting point of coconut oil (mid-70’s F).  On warmer days the lotion is a little softer, and on cooler days it’s more firm, but it maintains the whipped form either way.

If you’ve wanted to start small and easy with making your own lotion, this is definitely a good one to try.

This entry was posted in My Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

